Bedford Public Schools Superintendent Finalists Announcement



February 3, 2023

Good Afternoon Everyone,

I am happy to announce that the Bedford Superintendent Screening Committee has submitted their recommended finalists to the School Committee.

After careful review of applications and other submitted documents, the Screening Committee invited 13 candidates to meet with them. The Screening Committee conducted 13 in-person interviews lasting approximately 75 minutes each. After thorough review and discussion, the Screening Committee reached a unanimous agreement to recommend the following four candidates to the School Committee for their consideration during the public process of the search. The recommended finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

- Portia Bonner, Ph.D., Interim Superintendent of Schools, Bozrah Public School District, Bozrah, CT
- Clifford Chuang, M.Ed., Senior Associate Commissioner, MA Dept. of Elementary and Secondary Education
- Matthew Janger, Ph.D., Principal, Arlington High School
- June Saba-Maguire, Ed.D., Assistant Superintendent, Brockton Public Schools, Brockton, MA

I want to recognize the extraordinary service to the Bedford community by the members of the Screening Committee, all of whom spent many hours learning, discerning, and working together for the good of all of the students in Bedford, METCO, and Hanscom. The members worked tirelessly over many nights through the process of orientation, reviewing of 25 candidate application packages, preparing for interviews, meeting with and interviewing candidates, and deliberating respectfully and thoughtfully to reach consensus on a final recommendation. Their unbridled focus on seeking the right choices for Bedford has led to these four outstanding candidates for School Committee consideration. The Bedford community should be especially grateful. The members of the Screening Committee were:

Brad Morrison (Chair), Jill Butler, Erica Colbath, Michelle DellaValle, Pat Flaherty-Dawson, Heather Galante, C. Allison John, Dawn Kociubes, Akil Mondesir, Angel Pettitt, Sarita Pillai, Sarah Scoville, Shreyes Shivappa, Jim Sunderland, Marianne Vines, and Chris Wendell.

Sincerely, Brad Morrison Chair, School Committee